August 2023 Update

My birthday book haul

I had a birthday in the past month, and I received a lovely bundle of books to add to my to-be-read pile. Babel was the only one I really knew anything about – thanks to BookTok – and so I have decided to read it last. So, I started with the slimmest volume: A Psalm For The Wild Built by Becky Chambers.

I chose wisely! It was an utter delight, thoughtful, gentle, with well-wrought characters. I now have to hunt down the rest of Becky Chambers’ books.

Before I could start on another birthday book, I received Ben Aaronvitch’s latest novella set in his Rivers of London universe, Winter’s Gifts. I had it on order (I have a lot of books on order). Since that was also a slender book, and I was lured in by the blurb, I read it next and it turned out to be another enjoyable read. However, it wasn’t set in London and I missed reading about all the usual suspects. It’s almost a standalone book.

So, now i am getting into The Forgotten Beasts of Eld by Patricia A. McKillip. I’ll let you know how it goes.

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review, Personal experience

One response to “August 2023 Update

  1. Oh yes. Becky Chambers had such a wonderful way with words and her worlds and characters are so wonderful.

Leave a comment