Style: with help from a visual definition

style

Every so often, I get asked to define my writing style. Style is subjective. What one person loathes as purple prose in a text, another might adore as poetic and lyrical. How long is a piece of string?

However, this image above – by the talented illustrator Miyuli – gives a masterful summation of style, by showing how style effects the representation of the same subject.

With writing, how you say something is just as important as what you are saying. My style adapts to the genre I am writing in, so my style changes from text to text. I have a much dryer style when I am writing nonfiction to when I am writing fiction. The language in my blog is much more colloquial’ compared to the language I might use in writing a travelogue for a client. So, asking me what my style is, is like asking me what I had for breakfast. It changes, to suit my mood and the project.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing Style

Leave a Reply

