Transformation – Amelia (mechanic/aviator)

I enjoy seeing the creative process of Steampunk artists.

Steampunk - Shrunk!

img_20160716_080357-2Here’s a rare picture of Amelia with her identical twin sister Leonora.  When I first met them they both looked exactly like Leonora (left).

All my steampunk characters start out as mass produced dolls which I pick up online or in shops or bazaars.

First the clothes and excess glue are stripped off.  Then I look at the hair and decide whether it’s salvageable.  Sometimes I keep it and just do a restyle, as I did here.  Sometimes I make a new wig.

Next they sit for a while on the workbench while I decide how to transform them.  I’d done several lovely Victorian ladies in long dresses with top hat style fascinators or cogwheel covered headdresses, but Amelia seemed to want to break the mould.

img_20160716_080532-1So here she is – a fearless flyer and expert mechanic.  She may be petite and blonde, but she’s the equal of any other…

View original post 137 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

