Just how is my Steampunk novel progressing?

You might be wondering what has been happening, since I have been ‘missing in action’ for most of this month. The start of the year was made more interesting by a family emergency, with me toddling off to the family compound along with most of my close family. The second half of January was spent looking for a new rental home, and then moving. We picked the hottest week of the year (so far) to move.

large_writing_comic
With moving, we must play the ‘will we have an Internet connection?’ bingo. It took us two weeks to get reconnected this time, because we moved into a brand spanking new house and switches needed permission to be flicked. So, when we got our connection on Monday, I was excited. However, for the week leading up to reconnection, I spent time editing and pruning my Steampunk novel (and playing a game of Solitaire or two).
I’ve had a change of heart with one of my antagonists. He is going to be more of an ambiguous villain, wanting to follow the master plan, but also wanting to please and impress my protagonist, Alice. I know, I know, I seem to keep changing major part of the novel and it seems to be dragging on forever. After all, I am not aiming to write great ‘L’ Literature; instead, I want to supply a decent Steampunk read. It is just that I really do want this novel to be the very best that it can be.

never-finish
With a severe editing, I have 118000 words approximately. This is excellent, since I was aiming for a 120,000 word length. I don’t think I need to add much more to the body of the story, only to the final couple of chapters. I can see where I have a few more scenes that I need to cull. It is starting to look close to a final draft.
The plot and characters and settings are all complementing each other, without one aspect overpowering the others. The story has a good balance between action, dialogue and narration. I’ve worked hard to make my characters interesting and relatable. There is lots of shiny, shiny science. (So SHINY!) I’ve worked hard to stay away from stereotypes and clichés.
As well, in the past month I had a very kind rejection of my nonfiction book (too intellectual for their target audience!). So now it gets another polish and sent off to market again.
   So … did you miss me?

6 Comments

Filed under Personal experience, Steampunk Work-in-Progress, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Just how is my Steampunk novel progressing?

  1. I’m always impressed by people who can look at their own work and say “The plot and characters and settings are all complementing each other … story has a good balance between action, dialogue and narration. … characters [are] interesting and relatable…. ”

    Me, I just beaver away until there is no marble left that doesn’t look like the Venus-de-Milo. I’ve no idea what I’m doing, analytically!

  2. I look forward to reading your novel. Never tried large scale fiction writing and these days I’m reduced to blogging, since I spend most of my time making Steampunk miniatures. One of my favourites is called Alice, as it happens. Here she is, if you’d like to take a look… https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/494223091/steampunk-lady-alice-dollshouse-scale?ref=shop_home_active_11

Leave a Reply

