Setting the Stage

Cogpunk Steamscribe

Setting is my weakness when I am writing. I tend to get caught up in the action and forget the reader can see what I am seeing … it is all just floating in space for them. One of my lecturers at the University of the Sunshine Coast (Hi, Ross) told me to treat my setting like another character that needs to take part in the dialogue. I have found this advise most helpful, a real nugget of gold, and now I am passing it along.

The setting isn’t just the background upon which your characters act out their stories. The setting can be a metaphor for what is happening in that scene. For example, if you character is going through some form of personal growth, you might have them working in a garden. In this way, the setting enriches any dialogue and activity.

As well, the setting might be important…

View original post 130 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

