Adding an Old School technique to my writer’s tool kit.

Egg Rock near the Lamington National Park

Egg Rock near the Lamington National Park

I recently spent five days up in the Binna Burra Mountain Lodge. I did not take a computer with me. However, I did take pen and paper; five days was a long time away from writing. I rediscovered the pleasure of using a pen and paper to develop a concept and then start sketching out a structure.

When I first started out as a writer, I wrote everything by hand. Then I purchased an electric typewriter (I wish I still had it, it would be a museum piece). When word processors became available, I was very quick to jump on the technology bandwagon. I am a technophile, after all.

Doing the planning stage of my NaNoWriMo project without a computer was a challenge, and it seems that my muse enjoys a challenge. I covered pages with notes, plans, and structural grids. I spent at least an hour every day just coming up with story ideas. I managed to come up with forty ideas in five days; and at least two thirds of them are usable. There are a couple that actually seem quite clever!

This might not work for everyone. But it seems to be working well for me. I might try more ‘holidays’ from computers in the future.

3 Comments

Filed under Personal experience, Writing Style

3 responses to “Adding an Old School technique to my writer’s tool kit.

  1. karen j carlisle

    Reblogged this on Karen J Carlisle.

  2. Pingback: Adding an Old School technique to my writer’s tool kit. | justmecreativewriter

  3. karen j carlisle

    I find I get great ideas when handwriting. I often handwrite the first draft then transcribe it to my computer (and do the first rewrite at the same time). Currently in the process of doing just that!

Leave a Reply

