Why Steampunk?

I am reblogging several posts from two years ago, when I didn’t have that many people following the blog.

Cogpunk Steamscribe

What is it about Steampunk that attracts me to both the literary genre and the Aesthetic? I could be flip and just say, “Because…” And yet, there is so much more to it than that.

Tiny dirigible

I read my first Isaac Asimov collection when I was eight. I was a voracious reader, and the librarian at my primary school was already stretching my horizons.  I was a horse-struck girlie, but there were never enough horse books to satisfy my greed to read; my fall-back genre was Science Fiction. Doctor Who was one of my favourite television shows and fuelled my interested in the genre. I also read a lot of fantasy, fairy tales, and myths and legends when the Science Fiction ran out; it was a great era for collections of myths from other cultures. Still, I read every Asimov book I could get my hands on.

When I got to…

View original post 293 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

