Thinking it over

I am reblogging a couple of posts from two years ago, when I had about 14 people following the blog. I really am still officially on holidays.

Cogpunk Steamscribe

I used to think it was a joke that people ask writers about how they get ideas.  This is because I suffer from an overactive ideas generator.  It fires off a hundred ideas a week, and my main problem is sorting the cliche from the original idea.  This isn’t as easy as it sounds.  After all, a ‘good’ writer should be able to take a stale idea and make it sing.  Right?  Right?  So often I wonder if  I’m letting an idea die because I haven’t the skills.  However, that aside, I thought everyone had the same problem, and it was a kind of cultural joke.

Well, of course, my viewpoint has all changed.  I now know that some people believe writers pull ideas out of a hat.  Apparently there is some kind of secret magic box, full of ideas and we can pull them out when we need them. …

View original post 287 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

