Things I’ve Learnt in the Past fifty Years:

Portrait at 53

  1. One size fit all – never does
  2. Flesh coloured – isn’t
  3. It is never friendly to say “I’m just telling you this as a friend.”
  4. If it seems too good to be true, you’re probably right.
  5. Always trust your ‘creep’ vibe.
  6. Kindness is better than clever.
  7. Writing is hard work. Anyone who says differently is either a genius or a liar.
  8. Never let an opportunity to say ‘I love you’ pass by.
  9. Take risks. You can be surprised at the results.
  10. Never be afraid to follow your passions (so long as they are legal).
  11. You can never spend too much time with friends and family.
  12. The heart wants what the heart wants.
  13. Ask yourself “Will this moment matter when I’m eighty?” I get out of a lot of housework that way.
  14. Love that person you see in the mirror; they are always there for you.
  15. Give presents. Give hugs. Give back to the community.
4 Comments

Filed under Personal experience

4 responses to “Things I’ve Learnt in the Past fifty Years:

    • I like to give everyone the benefit of a doubt, but yes. That is also a possibility. So many times non-writer types say to me, “I’m going to write a book over the weekend/my holidays/the next year.” And when you see them next, they still haven’t started.

  1. Number 13 is why our Godkids love “the messy house”

Leave a Reply

