13 curiosities I saw at the 2015 Watch City Steampunk Festival

Kendra Mack

watch city 2015 calliope

Ah finally! After last year’s postponement, the Watch City Steampunk Festival was back in Waltham, MA this past weekend. And I had a fantastic time! Maybe due to the beautiful weather or the growth of steampunk culture in general, there seemed to be double (maybe triple!) attendees this year than in 2013. I think I snagged the last parking spot in all of Waltham by the time I got there, not expecting such an overwhelming turnout. Phew!

While 2013 had more big-name special guests (like Mike and Ethan from my favorite show Oddities), I felt that this year had more performances, energy, and an overall more “established” feel. I saw so many amazing costumes (even ones not remotely steampunk…) and just general bizarre, head-scratching awesomeness.

Here are 13 memorable sights from my Saturday steampunk adventure:

1. An electric pickle.

2. An antique fairground organ playing Coldplay’s “Clocks.” Appropriate for Watch…

View original post 245 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

