This book made me angry but I loved it – Suffragette by Emmeline Pankhurst

Books for the Trees

IMG_0032

NON FICTION ALERT!

Fuelled by Government’s repeated refusal to allow women to vote, Emmeline Pankhurst started and lead organisations and campaigns with ever-increasing militancy to gain the vote. She encourages crowds, confronts MPs, faces prison, escapes, grieves and fights in this book of her memoirs.

I loved this book. I loved learning about the suffragettes, hearing Pankhurst’s intelligent strategy in winning the vote, and was repeatedly outraged at the government’s reaction to them. It made me angry that I’ve never learned more about them – despite going to two girls schools. It made me angry that in culture we’ve reduced them, not acknowledging their sacrifice and the evil that they were up against.

View original post 265 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

