My Family’s Acceptance of my Alternative Lifestyle

A Present from my Father

A Present from my Father

My family used to ask me what Steampunk was, with some confusion. My family now think that my obsession with Steampunk makes it easy to shop for me for Christmas! My father bought me a Steampunk book simply because he saw it in a bookshop – it wasn’t a Christmas present as such, just a love gift.

Steampunk Locket; a Christmas present from my nephew and his partner.

Steampunk Locket; a Christmas present from my nephew and his partner.

My Christmas present from my sister and her family - the makings of Steampunk Jewellery for my craft box.

My Christmas present from my sister and her family – the makings of Steampunk Jewellery for my craft box.

At fifty two years of age, I have finally found my ‘tribe’. I got a lovely present from Secret Santa at the Christmas Party for my Steampunk Friends.

The leather wristlet from Secret Santa.

The leather wristlet from Secret Santa.

I also received some lovely books, including some Steampunk genre books that I will be reviewing over the next few weeks.

I hope you all had a lovely holiday season, whether you celebrate Christmas or not.

3 Comments

Filed under Alternative Subculture, Personal experience, Steampunk

3 responses to “My Family’s Acceptance of my Alternative Lifestyle

  1. wsmarble

    Splendid! What is any “culture” at all, if not a framework in which to find opportunities to interact and love each other? Both the punked and non-punked people in your life sound as wonderful as you deserve them to be. Here’s to a great upcoming year!

Leave a Reply

