Travel Writing

writer-car

Currently, I am actually working a paid writing gig. This is quite the confidence boost. However, on the down side, now I really want to travel to every place I am writing about. I guess that is a good thing, right?

My job to inform and educate people about tourist destinations. I take that very seriously. So I start by getting an idea of the region. What its the weather like? What is it close to? How far away is it from the nearest town/attraction? If you are visiting Western Australia, everything is a long way away from everywhere else. In Tasmania, you can drive across the state in four hours. So you have to market the destinations in different ways. Part of the joy of Western Australia is the journey and the isolation, you feel like you are on an adventure. In Tasmania, you can still find plenty of adventure, but the journey isn’t quite so large a part of it.

Now, if you will excuse me, I’m off to right about Queensland, my home state.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal experience, Writing Career

Leave a Reply

